Inga Simpson

Inga Simpson is an award-winning writer whose books include Mr Wigg, Where the Trees Were and Understory.


Inga Simpson began her career as a professional writer for government before gaining a PhD in creative writing. In 2011, she took part in the Queensland Writers Centre Manuscript Development Program and, as a result, Hachette Australia published her first novel, Mr Wigg, in 2013. Nest, Inga’s second novel, was published in 2014, before being longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and the Stella Prize and shortlisted for the ALS Gold Medal. Inga’s third novel, the acclaimed Where the Trees Were, was published in 2016. Inga won the final Eric Rolls Prize for her nature writing and completed a second PhD, exploring the history of Australian nature writers. Inga’s account of her love of Australian nature and life with trees, Understory, was published in 2017. Her first book for children, The Book of Australian Trees, illustrated by Alicia Rogerson, was published in May 2021. Her much-anticipated literary thriller, The Last Woman in the World, will be published by Hachette Australia in November 2021 and Little Brown in the UK in January. Inga lives on the NSW south coast among trees.

Inga Simpson

Festival Events


Mr Wigg

The Book of Australian Trees

The Last Woman in the World


Where the Trees Were